This is my honest Strategic Coach review. I wrote it for other business owners and entrepreneurs.

I was a member of Dan Sullivan’s Strategic Coach program. Specifically I was in the 10X program in Toronto, Canada for two years (2017-2019) and Dan was my instructor.

Each year I paid around US $22,000 to be a member. Plus flights and hotels.

I have many previous blog posts saved in this Strategic Coach section, sorted by date. My goal is for this one page to be like a central repository linking to all others, including summaries of my Strategic Coach reviews for each one.

Overall, I loved being able to network with some of the most successful business people from all over the world. I got the most benefit during the first year of my membership. I learned a lot by attending other group meetings, too. I will share some of those notes, too.

What is Strategic Coach?

Strategic Coach is a business coaching program designed to help entrepreneurs set goals, strategize, and network with peers.

There are three different program types:

  • The Signature Program is their most popular series of workshops. You’ll learn all the core habits and fundamentals of Dan Sullivan’s teachings in these (though he does not teach them himself).
  • The 10X Ambition Program is what I was in. It is a series of quarterly workshops, I think held now either in Chicago or Toronto, and as of 2019 Dan was still teaching all of these. It costs more to be in this, you get additional benefits (like being able to audit any of the Signature classes – any time, anywhere), and the requirement to join is a bit higher (based on business revenue, I think).
  • The Free Zone Frontier is something that Dan was still developing when I left, but basically it is his highest-priced mastermind for the most successful entrepreneurs. I have some friends in it and they’re happy members.

Summary of My Strategic Coach Experience

Editor’s note: I’m still finishing this section and working on editing it as of July 2020.

Being a member of Strategic Coach was an enriching experience. I’m glad that I chose to join. Here are some of my favorite parts:

  • Informative quarterly books and handouts
  • Group discussions
  • Engaging with other entrepreneurs
  • Peer group and feedback sessions

Throughout the Strategic Coach workshops, I felt challenged to be honest with myself and set bigger goals.



One worksheet asked us to consider which activities deserved more time in our lives and which ones should be less of a priority. It sounds like a simple concept, but when was the last time you did that kind of inventory?

I eventually left Strategic Coach after two years because I sold my business. I would not have had the right mindset to sell my business, or to start removing myself from the company, had I not joined Dan’s program.

List of My Strategic Coach Reviews

I’ve got tons of articles (well, thirteen of them) about my experience in Strategic Coach on other parts of my blog. You can see them all, listed in reverse chronological order, in the category index.

Or, keep reading for a brief description of each post:

What happens in a Strategic Coach workshop?

These are my notes from the June 11, 2018 class taught by Dan Sullivan for the Strategic Coach 10X Ambition Program. This post just gives you an overview of what to expect for a typical day-long workshop.

Chicago: 10X Workshop Notes

This post includes my workshop notes from the 10X class taught by Dan Sullivan on April 8, 2018. It’s mostly a collection of diagrams, quotes, and miscellaneous reflections from throughout the day.

Experience Transformer and Delegation Filter, Workshop Notes

In this post, I discuss the Strategic Coach CEO workshop held in Toronto on August 7, 2017. I include pictures and diagrams to highlight the key lessons. There’s even a few takeaways from a Q&A session with Dan Sullivan.

Unique Ability: A Key Strategic Coach Component

These are my notes from the August 17, 2017 class in Toronto, which was taught by Michael Reddy. We discussed how our brains work and how to close the gap between our goals and reality. I also outline some of my personal achievements and shortcomings to give you an idea of what you might want to share in a Strategic Coach class.

Impact Filters, The Largest Check, Experience Transformers

This post contains my notes from the Signature Program session I attended in Chicago on May 18, 2017 with coach Gary Klaben. This is typically recommended for the third quarter of your first year. This is a good place to start if you’re looking for an in-depth peek at a class agenda.

The Famous D.O.S. Workshop Notes

Here are my notes from a CEO workshop with business coach Teresa Easler in Philadelphia on January 28, 2017. It was amazing to network with other CEOs and leaders who were working on similar growth trajectories. We also learned some quick tips for boosting our energy, which didn’t help me at all after eating too much gnocchi at lunch.

Notes: 10X Workshop with Dan Sullivan

This post describes my second quarterly meeting (of my first year) in Toronto on December 5, 2016. This is where I learned that I have to be a little mean to myself if I want to evolve into a better entrepreneur. We all wrote down what we were procrastinating on and why.

[Video] 10X Bootcamp Notes

Like the title says, this post includes a video from the first ever 10x Bootcamp, which took place at the Strategic Coach offices in Toronto on December 6, 2016. I reflect on some of the exercises we did and include a few takeaways from the audience about what they liked the best about the program that day.

Kolbe Testing in Strategic Coach

This post focuses on Kolbe testing, as presented by coach Kristi Chambers on December 4, 2016 in Toronto. I review the Kolbe method and the overall presentation of it within the Strategic Coach framework.

Signature Workshop: Chicago with Chad Johnson

Here are my notes from my second quarterly meeting in my first year of the Strategic Coach program. This class took place on November 30, 2016 with instructor Chad Johnson. I explain a bit about how the program changed me, like when Chad pushed back after I shared my opposing perspective during open discussion.

Review: Signature Program in Chicago with Chad Johnson

In this post, I talk about the Signature Program 500K+ class I attended in Chicago on October 19, 2016 with coach Chad Johnson. I include memorable quotes and outline the backgrounds of my fellow attendees. If you’re wondering who you might meet at a Strategic Coach course, this is the post to read.

Raw Notes: 10X Ambition Program, Day 1

Here are some unfiltered observations about the 10X Ambition Program seminar taught by Dan Sullivan in Toronto on September 26, 2016. Believe it or not, I was the only renegade museum company in attendance. You’re shocked. I know.

Review: My Very First 10X Seminar (in Toronto)

If you’re wondering how to get started with Strategic Coach, here’s a post about my personal foray into the world of personal and business betterment. I attended an informational session called “How to Create a Self-Managing Company” in New York City on March 29, 2016. I talk a little about Strategic Coach’s methodology and a survey we took to assess our businesses compared to the ideal Self-Managing Company.

The Best Coaches in Strategic Coach

One of the most interesting parts of Strategic Coach is that the coaches themselves are previous graduates of the program.

Of the coaches I met, Chad Johnson was my favorite. Chad’s business prints labels for glass bottles and other goods. He also has 11 kids, so you know he’s good at managing his time.

I also liked Lee Brower a lot.

Conclusion

There’s a lot of information on various business masterminds online.

I’ve done the Tony Robbins Business Mastery, Vistage, LessDoing, and a few others.

Strategic Coach was my favorite. I especially got the most value from Year 1, where I learned about all the core curriculum – things like time blocking, the Impact Filter, etc.

Are you thinking about joining Strategic Coach? Send me an email to say Hi. I always enjoy meeting other business owners.

If you’re a business owner, here are a few other articles you might like that I wrote:

 

2020-07-22: Page created, I’ll come back to tighten copy and add images!

Share this Article 👇

Get the BEST Business Tips and Productivity Hacks

Work smart and improve your life. Enter your email to join my free Friends Newsletter. You'll get the best tips to boost your career. Read about new productivity hacks, plus see the business articles that I'm reading. Join 7000+ subscribers and find out why investors, CEOs, and museum curators love to get my early trends.